The Howard Law Group – founded on the principles of truth, justice, accountability, and equal access. Our success has been the result of each attorney and staff member’s commitment to these guiding principles. Being charged with an Atlanta DUI is a serious offense, and you need serious lawyers to help you.
Members of our firm engage in a legal defense strategies that help you win your case. When it comes to effective criminal defense and representation in Atlanta, experience isn’t enough. We have also earned a reputation for success, integrity in the courts, and an intelligent, hard-nosed approach to fighting for our clients’ best interests and rights. We won’t judge you, and we will use plain English to explain the law, the possible penalties, and how your decisions will affect the outcome of your case. As a a former prosecutor and aggressive litigator in State, Federal, and Municipal Courts where we have encountered every imaginable Georgia legal issue. Knowledge and the relationships we have built will make a difference in your case.
Specific Georgia DUI penalties depend on your age, license type, and previous DUI convictions, but usually consist of:
- License suspension or revocation.
- Fines and varying court costs.
- Possible jail time.
- DUI school and associated costs.
- Increased car insurance rates.
Some “penalties,” such as ignition interlock devices and limited driving permits, are actually privileges granted to the driver (see below).
The Georgia Department of Driver Services has the right to revoke, cancel or suspend your license, levy fines and require a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program regardless of any criminal charges for certain offenses such as driving under the influence or purchasing alcohol when under age.
Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program
Regardless of your age or offense number, you’ll have to complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program (RRP).
Georgia’s RRPs consist of two components:
- The Assessment Component, which consists of 130 questions that determine the impact the driver’s alcohol and drug use has on his or her driving.
- The Intervention Component, which is a course that lasts 20 hours, takes place in a group setting, and consists of several sessions.
Your RRP costs $355. This covers the Assessment Component ($100), the Intervention Component ($235), and the workbook ($20).
The state doesn’t accept online courses. Your judge most likely will provide you with a list of RRPs you can enroll in, but the state also provides an online list of certified DUI schools.
You must complete the RRP before you can apply for a limited driving permit or license reinstatement. Visit the state’s DUI FAQ section for more information about GA DUI schools, including attendance policies.
Ignition Interlock Device
Some drivers have to install an ignition interlock device (IID), which requires a breath sample both before you start your vehicle and periodically throughout your drive. Your vehicle will not start if the IID detects alcohol on your breath.
Generally, you’re eligible for an IID if you’ve had 2 offenses or more within 5 years. If you’re not eligible under state requirements, your judge might make an exception for financial hardship purposes.
If you or someone you know has been arrested on a suspected Georgia DUI Charge, then contact us immediately so we can get to work on the case.
Other Georgia Penalty’s Include:
- Fines between $300-$1000
- Mandatory 24 hour jail time, in addition to between a 10-day to 1-year sentence
- 12 months probation
- 40 hours of community service
- Clinical evaluation for substance or alcohol abuse and mandatory treatment, if needed
- Driver’s license suspension for 1-year
- Completion of court-ordered Risk Reduction (DUI) School
If you have been arrested on a Georgia DUI, Contact The Howard Law Group today to set up a free consultation!