Often people don’t take a DUI in Atlanta, or Georgia for that matter seriously, but it is a serious offence. Choosing the right Atlanta DUI Lawyer can make a huge difference when it comes to Georgia DUI Laws.
Successful people ask better questions.
Drunk Driving in Georgia can lead to some serious time. Questions about a DUI and what kind of penelty Georgia State Law enforces is an important first step. If you’re convicted of a first-time DUI in Georgia, you should expect to spend 24 hours in jail (or 48 hours in some counties). In addition, expect a one-year license suspension. If you’re over 21, you may be able to get your license back at the end of 120 days if you have completed an alcohol/drug risk reduction course and paid the appropriate reinstatement fee.
What should I expect?
Georgia law permits a prosecutor to reduce charges from a DUI to reckless driving. However, there are two things to consider: your record will continue to show a disposition for DUI, and you may recieve the same penalties as if convicted of a DUI. Reduction to reckless driving more typically occurs in first offenses.
In order to preserve the right to reduce the charges, you must enter an initial plea of not guilty. This will not only give you a chance to fight the charges, but will give you time to try to build a case and to work with the courts to reduce the pending charges.
We can help. If you have been arrested for Drunk Driving in the State of Georgia, call the Howard Law Group so we can immediately start working on your case.
Drinking and Driving Laws in Georgia
The State of Georgia prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. The .08 BAC limit is standard throughout the United States. In addition to this law, there are also separate, lower BAC limits for drivers under the age of 21, and commercial drivers. Georgia also has an “Open Container Law”. The open container law prohibits a alcoholic beverage container that contains any amount of alcoholic beverage in it from being inside a moving vehicle. This includes containers with broken seals or containers that have had the alcohol partially removed in a vehicle on the roadway or shoulder of any public highway. The fine for violating the open container law is $200..
Getting Legal Help
The state of Georgia prohibits reduction of DUI charges into lesser criminal convictions as a plea option, however, within a given case, numerous avenues for negotiating a favorable plea deal still do exist. Likewise, defendants should actively seek out dismissal of charges altogether. In either case, you may need the assistance of an attorney.